DAP fields first Orang Asli candidate in 52-year party history

The DAP has created a few histories with the DAP candidate line-up for parliamentary and state assembly elections for the 14th General Election on May 9, 2018.

The DAP is fielding candidates in 47 parliamentary and 105 state assembly seats totaling 152 seats, but involving 148 candidates as four DAP leaders, namely DAP Secretary-General Lim Guan Eng, DAP Vice Chairman and Penang DAP State Chairman Chow Kon Yeow, DAP Deputy Secretary-General and Perak DAP Chairman, Nga Kor Ming and DAP National Organising Secretary and Negri Sembilan DAP State Chairman Anthony Loke, are contesting both parliamentary and state assembly seats.

For the first time in the 52-year history of DAP, an Orang Asli candidate, Nasir Dollah, will be fielded in the Galas state assembly seat in Kelantan.

The ethnic breakdown for the 148 DAP candidates are:

Orang Asli - 1
Iban - 3
KDM - 3
Malay - 10
Indian - 22
Chinese - 109

DAP has probably the youngest candidate for all political parties in the 14th General Election – my political secretary Kerk Chee Yee, 25, who will be contesting in the Ayer Keroh State Assembly seat in Malacca.

DAP has nine candidates who are 30 years or below. Apart from Kerk Chee Yee, the other eight are:

Jamaliah Jamaluddin, 29 – Bandar Utama, Selangor.
Michelle Ng, 28 – Subang Jaya, Selangor.
Lim Yi Wei, 28 – Kampung Tunku, Selangor.
Choy Tsi Jen, 30 – Canning, Perak.
Teoh Yee Chern, 28 – Astaka, Perak.
Young Syefura Othman (Rara), 28 – Ketari, Pahang.
Teh Swee Leong, 28 – Kota Darul Aman, Kedah.
Phoong Jin Zhe, 29 – Luyang, Sabah.

Malaysia has a very youthful population, with the latest demographic profile of the country of 31 million people last year as follows:

0-14 years: 27.83% (male 4,493,084/female 4,238,991)
15-24 years: 16.81% (male 2,677,834/female 2,598,958)
25-54 years: 41% (male 6,507,499/female 6,358,762)
55-64 years: 8.27% (male 1,316,331/female 1,277,558)
65 years and over: 6.1% (male 907,850/female 1,005,125) (2017 est.)

DAP is fielding 27 women candidates – eight parliamentary and 19 State Assembly.

On May 9 two years ago, the Filipinos changed their President in their general election. On May 9 last year, the South Koreans changed their President in their presidential election.

It is now the turn of Malaysians whether they would change their Prime Minister on May 9 this year!

This is the decision in the hands of the 15 million Malaysian voters on May 9, 2018.

Lim Kit Siang DAP Parliamentary Leader